19. Advertisment Position Variation //Who’s Hiring?

Who’s Hiring? What type of skills are they looking for? What do Ad agencies want from us? Unfortunately I wish i knew the answer to my last question. I have been trying to research some ad agency jobs and titles that sound interesting to me, so I can narrow down my field of interest. I have come up against many walls and have figured out there is not one clear cut job description for each title for varying agencies. Each agency is different and  not only offers different services but have different mission statements and ways of life. I wish there was one cookie cutter answer , but then what would be the fun in that? isn’t that one of the reasons we, as creatives, do what we do?

Anyhow, while researching I found a couple of interesting job titles. Not necessarily that I would apply for, but that I could take parts of and apply to myself.

Here is a position for Mutt ad agency in Portland, Oregon:( Link)

Mutt 2013-02-16 at 12.23.49 PM

With this position, it is important to note the need for a social media talent. Although many people gawk and laugh at the downsides of social media, the truth is, social media is here to stay and ad agencies, like MUTT are hiring just that.

Takeaway: Get on top of my twitter game, research what brands are doing on social media, Can brands have a social media presence besides Facebook and twitter?

Code and Theory-New York Ad Agency (Link)

Code and Theory 2013-02-16 at 12.25.48 PM

I really like how code and theory used the word “liaison”. I think the “liaison” term is important for this account supervisor position. Why?Because people skills and  communicating with others is extremely important in this position. You must be able to “liaison”

Takeaway: Being able to communicate properly, Being able to explain an idea in multiple ways so many different types of people can understand, Be a people-pleaser without sucking up.

Modea Blacksburg, VA–Digital Ad Agency (Link)

Job Title: Account Director

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 10.15.51 AM

Modea’s account position focuses on leadership and responsibility. This small ad agency is looking more authority and initiative. Funny side note, their career/hiring page is titled “People we should’ve hired already” haha

Takeaway: Leadership and delegation skills are huge. You are what you make your job.

Matchstic Ad Agency-Atlanta,Georgia

Position: Relationship Manger

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 10.16.13 AM

I have never heard of this job title before. It sounds a lot like an account position, yet is stripped of the surface and is focusing on the core of what an account person should be doing: building relationships. I love the “nourishing and expanding relationships” with clients part.

Takeaway: People skills are a must, confidence, able to reassure clients as well as co-workers, responsibility, organization.

As you can see there are huge variations withing these 3 different agencies. Although some basic skills overlap between positions. Hopefully if I continue to do this process enough, I will figure out what in the world I want to do. Back to my research.

-Rachel

One thought on “19. Advertisment Position Variation //Who’s Hiring?

Leave a Reply

