Truth.

Summer. Summer is something everyone looks forward to. Warm temperatures, tan lines, beach vacations, farmers markets, a break from school, and a chance to relax. This summer, I don’t want to relax, (okay I do just a little…scratch that maybe more than a little) but really use this time to grow. I don’t have an 8:30 media ethics class, weekly grocery shopping, or a club meetings to limit my creativity and expansion of intelligence/personal brand. This summer I am going to DO something*.

outerbanksvacation_elainepalladinophotography_06$!400x

I originally planned for that something to be an unpaid advertising internship, but unfortunately that didn’t seem to be in the cards for me just yet. This interesting article by The Week argues, “It {un-paid internships} has forced many talented people with promising futures to pack up and go home”  However, I will not pack up and go home, but am going to try my hardest to make it in the journalism/advertising industry; and this summer is one step towards my future success.

I find the above quote (from successful duck alum) particularly inspiring and sparked the idea for this blog post.

Summer 2013 to-do list

  1. Continue with this blog and keep my critical analysis and written skills alive. Truly I have loved every second of this blog, and am excited to be back.
  2. Ask my boss if I can  start/run a twitter account for their company. This truly scares me. I think I some savvy social media skills but want to learn more on a business level.
  3. Be passionate. Find new ideas,topics,things that excite me.
  4. Learn how to code. I said this before, CodeAcademy.com here I come.
  5. Create cool things  in In-Design not for a project but for me.
  6. Email/make connections with people in the industry at least 2. Not asking for an internship but advice and insight on to how they made it in the industry.
  7. Read at least 1 non-fiction book for every 2 romance novels.

So there it is. What are your plans for summer 2013?

-Rachel

*My “do something” implies that I am going to expand my skill set in the journalism field.

One thought on “Truth.

  1. Pingback: Taking risks and To-do Lists | Rachelmdavidson

Leave a Reply

