Taking risks and To-do Lists

I love crossing off and finishing tasks on to-do lists. Although some might say it is obsessive, I love creating to-do lists; daily, weekly, summer 2013, or just goals in general. Although the iPad has many fancy apps for this, physically writing down tasks in my calendar keeps me organized. This may seem miniscule to other accomplishments or tasks, but the act of crossing out an item on to-do lists makes me extremely happy and reduces my stress level. Is it weird that my first item on my to-do list is always something I have already completed? I hope not.

Today I get to cross off #2 from my Summer 2013 to-do list!  I now am  an official social media Intern! I pitched the idea to my bosses and they loved it. I will be in charge of creating and maintaining the company’s twitter page. I took a risk by putting myself out there, and it paid off! But this is just the beginning, I plan on making their twitter as successful as it can be. Taking risks and going past your comfort zone is extremely difficult. However more research is showing that taking risks is both necessary and beneficial to your success.

Forbes Magazine says, “When speaking to people in their forties and beyond, many tell me that if they could do their career over again, they’d have taken more risks, settled less and spoken up more often. In short, they wished they’d been more courageous in the risks they’d taken.”

By definition a risk is taking a chance or  a situation involving exposure to danger. Now is the time to take risks and try new things that scare you. Without taking risks you are missing out on infinite possibilities. This Wall street Journal Article analyzes why risk taking in the business world is scarce.

However Helen Keller once said  “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.” 

-Rachel

2 thoughts on “Taking risks and To-do Lists

  1. congrats on the social media possibility!!! 🙂 I saw a presentation on social media once.. it was interesting on how it runs your business. 🙂 lets talk soon?

Leave a Reply

