2013.

Lets be frank. I wasn’t really aware it was the last day of 2013 until I saw this commercial on TV.  I mean I knew it was Dec. 31, 2013, but I didn’t know that another year was passing. Another year filled with memories, laughter, upsets, and struggles.

I was literally rushing out the door, trying to collect my belongings trying to make it to the DMV at a reasonable hour, when I stopped and watched the entire advertisement. It was beautifully breathtaking. I remembered most of those moments, the good, the bad, and the great.

In the last hours of 2013, my mind is filled with memories, questions, and resolutions.  I get frustrated with the idea that this one day is supposed to represent a clean slate. That we are supposed to make resolutions, and that they shouldn’t have to stick.  If a change is needed make it, not for the holiday but for yourself.

“We love New Year’s Eve because we like the idea of a clean slate. #Truth is, you can pick yourself up and change anytime you want. Keep your NYE excitement the whole year round, and don’t let those petty experiences drag you down.”-Kirbie Johnson

However,  I am contradicting myself by having  some of my own 2014 resolutions. Some of them include: I want to forgive easily, appreciate the “now”, and be less stressed.  Goodbye 2013, May 2014 be the best one yet.

Cheers! -Rachel

Leave a Reply

