What’s Cooking #3: Caprese Pasta Salad Recipe + Multigrain Bread + Buffalo Turkey Burgers

Alas, Another round of What’s Cooking! This past week I have been cooking up a storm. Because I work everyday from 9-4, I am always on the hunt for new and exciting recipes that pack well for on the go lunches. Snacks are very important as well. Usually I bring a ziplock bag of cherry tomatoes, crackers, and some sort of fruit. This week’s fruit is watermelon-which was worth every second of  trying not to smash them on the bumpy 15 minute bike ride home from the farmers market!!

Caprese Pasta Salad

IMG_20140802_122901Last Saturday at the Eugene Farmers Market, heirloom tomatoes were the prized possession. Pretty ruby reds to vibrant oranges with striped ridges, there were so many different shapes and sizes.  I had to buy some from a couple from different vendors since they are in the peak of their season. I also picked up some basil and decided to use these fresh ingredients to make a simple pasta Caprese Salad. I was inspired by a recipe I received in Italy from my program director’s wife Angelica. Angelica was full of energy and loved sharing her pasta recipes she makes on a daily basis. One of the many valuable tips I learned from her is to scoop out the pasta from the water rather than strain in. This way you can keep the extra salted water which will be useful  to thin out thick tomato based sauces while giving flavor.  Enjoy the Caprese recipe below:

  • 1 package of pasta cooked al dente- I used Trader Joe’s Rigatoni
  • 1 small ball of fresh mozzarella cubed into bite size pieces
  • Half a bunch of Basil, chopped
  • 4 medium sized heirloom tomatoes
  • 1/3 cup of good quality Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

Directions: Combine all ingredients gently and refrigerate overnight

Greek Chicken Gyros via The Girl who Ate Everything

IMG_20140729_185423

Greek food is the epitome of summer to me. Although I have never been, the crystal blue waters and pristine white door houses of the Greek Isles inspire me. Greece is next on my travel list, and I can not wait to try an original Greek gyro. Luckily for me, I have a wonderful recipe that can satisfy my island dreaming. The chicken is soaked in a simple yogurt based marinade and then grilled, topped with fresh sliced tomatoes and red onion with a homemade Tzatziki dressing. The key to a good Tzatziki, is to press the liquid out of the shredded cucumber with a paper cloth. It sounds confusing, but actually is really easy. Also because I am trying to eat healthy I substituted regular pita bread with Arnold 100 Calorie whole-wheat pita pocket thins and only use a half.  I have made this several times now, and the link is in my bookmark list! This wrap is so easy and light and refreshing-Highly recommend! Here is the recipe I use.

Metropol Bakery Birdseed Multigrain Bread via Metropol Bakery

IMG_20140729_123759Don’t you hate it when you go to reach for something that you are really craving only to find out it has spoiled and you can not eat it? Well in my case it was moldy bread-that I had just bought a couple days prior. Grrr very upsetting, at the time. Luckily, it worked out in my favor because while I was meeting a friend for coffee last week at a local bakery called Metropol Bakery I bought a new loaf. I picked up a day old loaf, which was slightly cheaper. Metropol’s website says the bread includes,  “sesame, sunflower and flax combined with rolled oats, whole wheat, rye and white wheat flour and a bit of honey”. I can not wait to go and get another loaf- it was perfect toasted with a little bit of jam.

Green Beans

My favorite vegetable hands down are zucchini, but I have been eating so much this summer I decided to give another vegetable a chance. Green beans are in season here in Oregon and my favorite way to prepare them is just slightly steamed. I love the perfect crunchiness of the beans and is probably the easiest veggie side possible.

Buffalo Turkey Burgers with Blue Cheese Broccoli Slaw via Skinny Taste

IMG_20140803_185947This is by far my favorite dish I cooked last week! It is the perfect summer burger–deliciously addictive! The turkey patties are extra juicy and pack a ton of flavor. I also made Skinny Taste’s homemade blue cheese dressing made with no-fat Greek yogurt, which is a great alternative to regular blue-cheese dressing. Mixed with the broccoli slaw, it packs a lot of punch. Instead of using traditional hamburger buns I used some leftover pita thins which worked great. Since I normally just cook for myself I measured out 6 sized patties and froze them individually, so that I can cook them fresh every night for dinner. Because I don’t have access to a barbeque, I cook these on our George Foreman Grill which works just as great. The Skinny Taste  has tons of easy healthy recipes and know I will continue to visit her blog. Here is the recipe for the Buffalo Turkey Burger and Here is the recipe for homemade skinny blue cheese dressing.

-Rachel

2 thoughts on “What’s Cooking #3: Caprese Pasta Salad Recipe + Multigrain Bread + Buffalo Turkey Burgers

  1. Thank you for sharing the Italian Capresse Salad. It looks so easy to make, and it would be great for on-the-go lunches.

    dianna davidson

Leave a Reply

