Staying Healthy Tips and Tricks: My Fitness Pal App Review

Living a healthier, happier lifestyle has been my 2014 summer goal. This was not a drastic change, but rather a mindful lifestyle adjustment. Growing up I was constantly dancing . My average week consisted of 25 hours dance up until I got to college. I didn’t realize it then, but it was a wonderful cardio activity and  I gained serious muscle.

Health-Quotes-31The past three years my fitness routine was seriously lacking-I had moderately gone to the gym here and there but nothing consistent. In addition to the lack of physical activity, my busy college student life took over and setting an hour aside to prepare a meal was difficult. I also have a huge sweet tooth and really enjoy baking-which didn’t help. Staying healthy requires two very important factors: working out and eating healthy. “It’s a no-brainer that diet and exercise are both crucial to your well-being and your waistline. And that generally adhering to recommended guidelines (like getting regular doses of aerobic activity and resistance training, filling half your plate with fruits and vegetables, and eating lean protein) is the best way to optimize your health overall.”-Real Simple

This summer I wanted to start taking care my body and mind. I didn’t make the decision to lose weight but rather make small changes in my daily life that would improve my overall health. Changes such as going to the gym on a regular basis and skipping binge cookie nights . Although getting my butt to the gym was hard at first, eventually I have made it a routine! I am so proud of all of my accomplishments and sticking to my goals. This includes going to the gym at least four times a week and eating healthy with fresh natural ingredients and cooking all of my meals-no more frozen processed food!

The first tip I am sharing is related to the eating healthy side.  It is a meal tracker/Calorie Counter App called My Fitness Pal.I know what you are thinking. A fitness app? Gag me. But hear me out-Keeping track of what you eat in a day is extremely beneficial and is proven to help people achieve their fitness goals. “Study after study has confirmed the benefits of keeping track of the food you eat and the activity you do. It’s simple – the more consistently you track your food intake, the more likely you are to lose weight.”( My Fitness Pal)

Mostly because writing down what you eat creates awareness and keeps you accountable. (My fitness pal) No way will I always eat perfectly everyday. But MyFitnessPal helps me make good decisions. Before eating a handful of chocolate chips sometimes I remember I will have to write it down and decide on a glass of juice instead.

Also I think the app is fun. The app itself is really easy to navigate. You can search for foods by name, brand, or a barcode. The app even has some of my favorite food blogger’s recipes-including my all time favorite SkinnyTaste. Its simple-you do not have to calculate all the calories or fats of a food-My fitness pal does it for you! You simply just type and click and Voila! Having a routine and sticking to it is enjoyable. I notice that I look forward to entering in my days when I consciously ate healthy or didn’t overeat. It is a nice reward to see in writing my progress! I also like the interactiveness of the app. My mom has the app as well and we can track each others progress and motivate each other-I love that part of it!

Recognizing your eating habits is important and can make a difference in creating a healthy lifestyle. Let me know if you want to hear more about fitness/health topics. Have a healthy, happy, summer! -Rachel

Leave a Reply

