What’s Cooking #4: Chia Seeds + Edamame Hummus

Zucchini Carrot Muffins

IMG_20140804_211259The best part about muffins is that they are actually little cakes disguised by the name muffins. And having a little cake for breakfast is amazing. I was craving blueberry or banana chocolate chip muffins but didn’t want to splurge on the unhealthy sugars so instead I made these. Although they do not taste  like a buttery chocolate muffins they are a really nice snack and packed with protein from the oats and zucchini. Plus who doesn’t love individual mini snacks? Here is the recipe I used.

Smoothies + Chia Seeds

Count me as jumping on to the smoothie train! Smoothies are a great snack option for after a workout or when you’re feeling hungry. The basis of mine are always Greek Gods honey Greek yogurt, cranberry juice, and ice cubes with whatever fresh fruit I have on hand. Usually some sort of berries or peach mixture. My favorite combo this past week has been honeydew + Chia seeds. I had some overripe honeydew I needed to use up so I added it to yogurt and chia seeds to make a smoothie/juice drink! Very delicious. Chia seeds are a healthy nutritious seed that are very absorptive. In just one ounce, there are 11 grams of fiber and 4 grams of protein. I found mine at trader joe’s for $4.99!

 

Southwest Zucchini Boats

IMG_20140810_184612Dinner last week were these easy scrumptious zucchini stuffed boats. Stuffed with ground turkey, black beans, corn, and jalepeno’s they were easy to assemble and were great as leftovers. I enjoyed them so much I gave the recipe to my mom to try out-which she loved as well. I used this  recipe by Skinny Taste and added jalapeno + paprika + red pepper flakes. I guess I was feeling extra bold at the time. A great tip is taste as you go because they were on the spicier end of my heat tolerance.

Healthy Hummus Wraps

Return of the Edamame hummus. Trader Joe’s discontinued my favorite type of hummus, luckily I found a great replacement at Safeway by the brand Open Nature.  My favorite way to eat it is in a wrap for an easy lunch. Tumaro’s 60 calorie chia seed low-carb tortilla wraps caught my attention. I adore their slogan of “Let’s skip the sandwich” This tortilla wrap is actually very tasty and when filled with hummus, tomatoes, cucumber, red bell pepper, and arugula-it makes the perfect lunch! I would definitely repurchase am looking forward to trying Tumaro’s other 60 calorie varieties.

Coffee

As mentioned by my previous post-I am kinda addicted to coffee. It is the best part of mornings. Making it at home is a cost-effective way to save money. There is nothing better than just lounging in bed on a Saturday morning drinking a hot cup of coffee. My favorite creamer of the moment is the caramel macchiato one from Lucerene. So sweet and delicious. Tip: add a couple shakes of cinnamon to your coffee while it brews for extra flavor.

What were you eating this week? -Rachel

Leave a Reply

