Summer Loving #3: Colleen Hoover’s Ugly Love + Movie “Chef”

Books: Colleen Hoover, Ugly Love & Hopeless

I can’t stop reading this summer. During the school year I barely have time to paint my nails yet alone do any “fun” reading besides textbooks, so having a little bit of extra time to do some pleasure reading this summer is very exciting. I am a book worm at heart and love getting immersed within a story. Laying out in the sun relaxing with a good book is the epitome of summer. Recently I have loved reading books by the author Colleen Hoover. She writes stories that are real and relatable with amazing character development with saucy delicious romance on the side.  My all time favorite is Hopeless, but I adored her latest novel Ugly Love.  Ugly Love is  heart-wrenchingly beautiful and one I couldn’t put down. Amazon describes the synopsis of Ugly Love  “When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn’t think it’s love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends…Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future.” Side note if you don’t like crying in books or romance, these are not for you.

Brand: Yes TO (Skincare)

Taking action today for the future is hard. Although you want to live in the now sometimes we must take action now for a betterf future. Such as internships that will help aid a future job search, going to the gym and working out when all you want to do is eat a spoonful of nutella, and….. skincare. All of these things will not produce immediate results but rather help you invest in your future. I am starting to get serious about skincare. I want to prevent fine lines and wrinkles while protecting my skin from the sun. The catch, without breaking the bank. As much as I really wanted to purchase this 99$ eye cream, I just couldn’t justify the money. Instead I went with a much more affordable eye cream- Yes to Blueberries Eye Firming Treatment. I don’t really have any fine lines so I can’t say if this is working or preventing anything but I love the feel of it and am glad I am investing in my skin. I also have been trying out the Yes to Carrots intense hydration night cream and loving it! This brand is not only natural and uses organic ingredients but also gives back to the community! Two things I can support.

Movie: Chef

My Nana suggested this movie as a recommendation, and I am so glad I decided to watch this. The movie “Chef” takes everything I love: comedy, romance, transitional life story, and combines it with food! Anything relating to food I am guaranteed to love. The food shots are drool worthy, and those alone worth watching the movie. Precise knife skills aside, I love the story behind the food truck and the relationships with family. The actors are cast very well and “Chef” is a thoroughly enjoyable fun movie! You can watch the trailer HERE. Let me know if you are craving a Cubano sandwich after watching this movie-I am!

Makeup: Maybelline Color Whispers + Color Tattoos

Easy & Effortless is my makeup motto of 2014. Since I work extra early this summer, there is no way I am waking up earlier to spend a lot of time on my makeup. These two products by Maybelline are lifesavers. Color Tattoos are potted cream eyeshadows. I own a couple, but recently purchased the matte shade in creamy beige based on a recommendation by one of my favorite beauty bloggers Teresa Chic. The formula is so easy to swipe on the lids and the neutral color is a great everyday shade, giving a naturally flawless look!. I pair this with the Maybelline Color Whisper lip balm in  “Cherry on Top“. Although this shade looks intimidating in the tube but is actually very wearable and moisturizing. I love the slight stain it leaves to the lips as well. Lovely bright pink/red shade for these hot days.

Other: School Supplies

Although my mom no longer makes my lunches and I do not get a full new back to school wardrobe, I still look forward to the beginning of back to school. Buying a new planner is one way I get excited. I personally love the Gallery Leather Family Planner at Barnes and Noble. The vertical days and time slots help me keep track of all of my assignments and to-do lists! Here is the link to the one I got. Also for back to school I bought myself a new laptop case, since my old one was cracked. It has the most adorable flower print and makes me happy. Its is the little things in life. As I was typing this I realized that this is my last ever “Back to School”-at least I think; hopefully I will have a job next year.

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

