What’s Cooking #5- Almond Milk + Tomatillo Poblano Cream Sauce

Mini Meatloafs + Roasted Green Beans and Potatoes

Mini Meatloaves with Green Beans & Potatoes Recipe

I love finding new recipes to try-I hardly ever make the same thing twice. Usually I get my recipes online from food blogs or food websites, but sometimes I will find a recipe from a magazine or cookbook. Eating Well Magazine has been my new favorite-I really enjoy the in-depth articles about food related issues such as GMO’s or the difference between the many types of oils. A bonus is that that all of their recipes are healthy and list the calories,protein, carbs, ect. In the most recent Issue, the magazine had a section on “Cookie Sheet” dinners- where everything can be baked on a cookie sheet, including these mini meatloafs. I always thought that meatloaf was gross , especially the ones with massive amounts of ketchup. It reminds me of the 1920’s and the outdated housewife era. Eating Well updated the recipe making cute portion sized rounds flavored with worcestershire sauce and Italian seasoning. The meat turned out perfectly, and served along side garlic-paprika roasted veggies made a exciting dinner. Here is the recipe

Tomatillo Poblano Cream Sauce Grilled Chicken

The grill never tasted so good with this Grilled Chicken withTomatillo Roasted Poblano Cream Sauce | www.joyfulhealthyeats.com #glutenfree

One of my favorite parts of the farmers market is to see what is new in season for the week. Blueberries are now long gone and instead tomatoes, potatoes, and melons are in the peak of their season. A couple of weeks ago tomatillos were all the rage. When I saw them, I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do with them, but decided to figure that part out later. After making this  Tomatillo Poblano Cream Sauce Grilled Chicken recipe, I was hooked and went back the next week to buy more-only to discover that sadly they were gone. To me tomatillo’s taste more like a fruit than a vegetable-kind of like an apple. Their intense flavor is crisp, sweet, and tart. This recipe called for them to be grilled and then pureed with a roasted poblano pepper, lemon juice, and yogurt. Served over grilled chicken it was a perfect summer meal. Click Here for the Recipe. This sauce was also great on salads, as a dip for chips, and a dressing for wraps as well! (Image via Joyful Healthy eats)

Tropical Carrot Blend Trader Joes

When my Dad was visiting me, he picked up this tropical carrot juice blend for me to try. Normally, I would never buy a carrot juice but surprisingly I enjoy this one. It does not taste like carrot but more of a tropical fruit juice. It is refreshing and I usually enjoy it with my morning oatmeal or in a smoothie. I have found that I enjoy a lot of Trader Joe’s beverages and will continue to buy more.

No Bake Penut Butter Protein Bars

As I mentioned in my last post, I made my own protein bars via a recipe from OH She Glows. They were super quick to make and are not only healthy but very yummy.  I have been enjoying them for my mid-morning snack every day at work. I love the sweet peanut butter taste and the consistency is very smooth. I feel full after eating one and also know I am putting natural ingredients into my body, which makes me feel good. I am planning on making them again this weekend! I highly recommend giving these bars a try. The only change is that I used Oat flour instead of grinding my own oats since I do not own a food processor.

Almond Milk

I am becoming a breakfast girl. I used to dislike breakfast, mainly because I didn’t eat eggs. Some of my favorite breakfast foods include veggie omelets, oatmeal, overnight oats, smoothies, and pancakes on the weekends.  However Cereal will continue to trump all of these breakfast foods.. It sound very unglamorous but cereal is one of my favorites. For the month of September I am trying not to drink milk. I read an article online that suggested dairy can be linked to bad skin. Instead of giving up all dairy products at once I giving it up little by little to see if I see a change. I absolutely love cheese and yogurt so I am not sure how that will work-but for now I am drinking Almond Milk. It doesn’t taste as good as regular milk, but I think I just need to find a brand that I like.

Leave a Reply

