Breakfast of Champions

In the past, I was not a breakfast person. I did not enjoy the different savory and sweet options and would stick to mainly cereal. I don’t remember the exact moment I became a breakfast person, one who enjoys sunny side eggs, but I am never looking back. However because I am still a college student, breakfasts are usually pretty boring for me on weekdays. When I wake up late on a cold winter morning and am rushing to get out the door for my 9 am class, preparing a nutritious healthy breakfast is the last thing on my mind. However on the days I do take time to eat one of the following nutritional breakfasts, I feel stronger, more energized and ready to take on the day. Here are two of my favorite healthy breakfast options.

Overnight Oats

These oats are my absolute favorite breakfast meal. Usually I am not a hot oatmeal person. It takes too long to make, and am never impressed. I like the consistency better cold. However this oatmeal is packed with nutrients, and vitamins and is the ultimate grab and go breakfast. Make it the night before for the easiest, healthiest morning treat.

  • ½-mashed banana
  • ½ cup steel-cut oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1-tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1-teaspoon ground flax seeds
  • ¼ cup raisins
  • 2 tablespoons flavored Greek yogurt (this is the sweetener, if you use plain yogurt make sure to add some honey if you like)
  • Dash of cinnamon, vanilla extract, or pumpkin pie spice

In a cereal bowl mash the banana with a fork. Add everything but the almond milk and mix well. Add the almond milk and thoroughly mix. Cover with plastic wrap. Put in the fridge overnight or up to eight hours.

*TIP: try adding a spoonful of peanut butter or topping with freshly sliced strawberries or granola for crunch.

Avocado Toast

To say avacado-toasts are my new favorite snack/food group is an understatement. I have become obsessed with this easy breakfast inspired snack. This breakfast is more on the savory side and is very hearty. The sunny side up egg with a yolk that is slightly runny combined with creamy avocado is a great combination.  When in doubt-put an egg on it!

  • Whole wheat English muffin
  • ¼ avocado
  • Dash of salt and pepper
  • 1 egg

Toast whole-wheat muffin. While the english muffin is toasting add a small amount of butter to a hot fry pan that was on medium/high heat. When butter is hot. Crack an egg into the fry pan. When brown on the bottom, flip the egg onto the other side and turn off the heat. Leave on for 30 seconds so that the yolk is slightly cooked through, but still runny. To assemble take the toasted English muffin and mash the avocado and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Top with fried egg.

Bonus: slice the egg with a knife to let the yolk run. Voila

One thought on “Breakfast of Champions

Leave a Reply

